Four Moose Jaw reps at FCM Convention

Lisa Goudy
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Coun. Patrick Boyle is pictured during his time at the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) conference in Vancouver in 2013.

There will be no council meeting on Monday because of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) Convention.

The annual conference, which began on Friday and will wrap up on Monday, offers keynote speakers, panel discussions, workshops, study tours and a trade show. This year it is in Niagara Falls.

Attending the 2014 conference from Moose Jaw are Mayor Deb Higgins, Coun. Heather Eby, Coun. Patrick Boyle and Coun. Candis Kirkpatrick. At the 2013 convention in Vancouver, Boyle was the only Moose Jaw representative to attend.

Some of the study tours to choose from include downtown Niagara Falls on Queen Street, Heartland Forest, the Niagara Recycling Facility, Brock University for Niagara Falls’ bioscience story, the Walkers Creek system, Niagara Region Headquarters and the one-stop digital media shop at Generator at One, an interactive media development studio.

There are a number of workshops offered as well. Those include raising more money without raising taxes or user fees, closing the infrastructure gap with research collaborations, disaster recovery and building better communities with sustainable revenues.

Keynote speakers include Justin Trudeau, leader of the Liberal Party of Canada, Thomas Mulcair, leader of the New Democratic Party, Elizabeth May, leader of the Green Party of Canada and Lisa Raitt, federal transport minister. The celebrity speaker will be Rick Mercer.

Follow Lisa Goudy on Twitter @lisagoudy.

Organizations: Niagara Recycling Facility, Brock University for Niagara Falls, Liberal Party of Canada New Democratic Party Green Party of Canada and Lisa Raitt

Geographic location: Moose Jaw, Niagara Falls, Vancouver Queen Street Walkers Creek

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page