Gedak advances to A final at men's southerns

Times-Herald Staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.


Two rinks with strong Moose Jaw ties advanced to the A event semifinals at the SaskTel Men’s Southern curling championship Friday in Regina.

Brent Gedak’s Estevan rink — which features a front end of Derek Owens and Malcolm Vanstone — advanced to the A event final thanks to an 8-6 win over Randy Bryden from Regina.

Gedak will face Swift Current’s Max Kirkpatrick in the A final at 4:30 p.m. Saturday.

Kirkpatrick beat Joel Jordison’s Regina Highland rink 7-5 in the other A semi.

Jordison, who is from Moose Jaw, is joined by third Jason Ackerman, second Brent Goeres, lead Curtis Howarth and coach Roger Anholt.

They beat Josh Heidt 11-4 earlier Friday to advance to the A semifinal.

Gedak beat Moose Jaw’s Wade Sydorko rink 10-7 in their A quarter-final.

Sydorko is the lone Moose Jaw Curling Club rink at the 16-team event.

Sydorko and his rink of third Cole Tenetuik, second Chadd McKenzie and lead Derek Dejaegher lost their B event game Friday night 9-7 to Mark Walter from Lampman.

Jordison will play in a B event semfinal this afternoon and Sydorko will look to stay alive in the C event at 4:30 p.m.

Organizations: Moose Jaw Curling Club

Geographic location: Moose Jaw, Swift Current

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page