Fioretti wins humanitarian award

Katie Brickman
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Reinhart wins Player of the Year

For the past four seasons, Sam Fioretti has been a visible face in the community.

Sam Fioretti, captain of the Moose Jaw Warriors won the Doug Wickenhesier Humanitarian Award at the WHL annual awards banquet in Calgary on Wednesday.

The Western Hockey League awarded the Moose Jaw Warriors captain for his hard work on Wednesday.

Fioretti won the Doug Wickenhesier Humanitarian Award at the WHL annual awards banquet in Calgary.

“I don't think this is as much my award as it is all my teammates and the city of Moose Jaw,” said Fioretti after being presented the award. “As a WHL player, we are role models in the community.”

Fioretti is the fourth Warrior to win the humanitarian award, joining Darryl Laplante, Grady Manson and Spencer Edwards.

“I got to say when Spencer Edwards was in my first year, he opened my eyes to what we have the ability to do in the community,” said Fioretti from Calgary. “I think once I saw what Spencer did, it made me want to do the same thing one day.”

The Calgary native was named as the captain for his overage season with the Warriors and he didn’t waste any time getting involved in the schools.

He was part of bringing the Warriors Workout program to elementary schools as well as working with the Moose Jaw Police Services on an anti-bullying campaign.

“It was the beginning of last season and James (Gallo) called me and Morgan (Rielly) into his office and asked what we thought about different player appearances,” explained Fioretti. “Morgan and I thought these would be two good programs with us as athletes, we could show kids how to active. With the bullying campaign, I think everybody knows somebody who has been affected by bullying in one way or another. We thought, as role models, those would be two good programs to start.”

Fioretti believes both programs were successful this year, but does give credit to the schools for embracing them as well as the police for asking the team to be a part of the bullying campaign.

“I took a lot out of it. The things that surprised me the most out of it was when we were doing the bullying campaign, how the kids opened up to us and shared their problems with us and how we tried to do all we could to help them,” said Fioretti. “It was almost flattering that these kids thought that much about us that they would share their problems and ask for our help in different situations.”

Although Fioretti was never able to win a championship with the Warriors, it has been a successful WHL career.

“I am very proud of what I’ve accomplished as a Moose Jaw Warrior and I think this just adds to it. I have to thank all my teammates over the years not only for my on-ice success, but also my off-ice with these programs — without my teammates, these wouldn’t have worked. They were there helping each and every day,” he said.

As captain, Fioretti also continued with the Captain Cares program that Spencer started and that Kendall McFaull also helped grow. He also took part in the CIBC Read to Succeed program.

Although it will be his name that goes onto the award, Fioretti stated that he couldn’t have done these initiatives without the support of his teammates.

“I think, as the captain, I wanted to be a leader on the ice as well as off the ice,” he said. “I think having a positive influence on the community is a huge part of being a Western Hockey League team and I thought the guys did a great job in all the programs. I can’t say that this is just my award as much as it is my teammates as well.”

Since Fioretti won the WHL award, he is now up for the Canadian Hockey League humanitarian award, which will be presented during the Memorial Cup.

“It is it just an honour to win in the WHL and to know I am up for the Canadian Hockey League award, it is pretty amazing. There are so many good programs out there,” he said.

List of award winners:

WHL Player of the Year – Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Sam Reinhart – Kootenay Ice

WHL Rookie of the Year - Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Nick Merkley – Kelowna Rockets

WHL Goaltender of the Year - Del Wilson Trophy

WINNER: Jordon Cooke – Kelowna Rockets

WHL Defenseman of the Year - Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Derrick Pouliot – Portland Winterhawks

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year - Brad Hornung Trophy

WINNER: Sam Reinhart - Kootenay Ice

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year – Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Nelson Nogier – Saskatoon Blades

WHL Humanitarian of the Year – Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Sam Fioretti – Moose Jaw Warriors

WHL Coach of the Year - Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Dave Lowry – Victoria Royals

WHL Executive of the Year - Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Cam Hope – Victoria Royals

WHL Marketing/Business Award

WINNER: Seattle Thunderbirds

WHL Scholastic Team of the Year

WINNER: Calgary Hitmen

WHL Top Official – Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Nathan Wieler

WHL Regular Season Champion - Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy

WINNER: Kelowna Rockets

WHL Top Scorer - Bob Clarke Trophy

WINNER: Mitch Holmberg – Spokane Chiefs

Follow Katie on Twitter @katiebrickman.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page