Express win some WMBL hardware

Katie Brickman
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Some members of the Moose Jaw Miller Express won some personal awards.

Western Major Baseball League.

The Western Major Baseball League announced some regular season hardware on Thursday.

It was a successful summer for all the teams in the league, as over 156,000 fans filled the 11 ballparks across the Prairie provinces.

That broke the 2013 attendance record of 134,000.

Josh Johnson of the Swift Current Indians won the MVP award.

Express’ third baseman Aidan Stinnett was the rookie of the year and a first team infield all-star.

Davidson’s Terry McNabb was a first-team all-star pitcher after leading the team in wins (eight) and strikeouts (73).

McNabb went 8-1 with a 2.47 ERA for the Express.

Miles Hunter also made the first-team all-star for outfielders.

The Canadian rookie of the year went to Tyrell King of Okotoks and Ryan MacDonald from the Lethbridge Bulls won coach of the year honours.

“The WMBL is proud of the large pool of college player talent that comes in each summer and contributes to the communities they participate in,” said Kevin Kvame, WMBL president via a release. “The award winners and all-stars are individuals that are recognized by their fellows teams.”

Organizations: Western Major Baseball League

Geographic location: Swift Current, Okotoks

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page