Corbin wins opener at junior curling provincials

Matthew Gourlie
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Tenetuik suffers close loss in men’s event

Kaitlin Corbin and her Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre foursome got off to a winning start at the Junior Women’s Curling Provincial Championship in North Battleford Friday.

The Kaitlin Corbin rink includes coach Darcey Huyghebaert, left, Corbin, Karlee Fessler, Sarah Houg and Renee Michaud. Submitted photo

Corbin and her rink beat Courtney Orsen from the Saskatoon Granite 8-2.

In the Junior Men’s Curling Provincial Championships being held at the same time at the North Battleford Twin Rivers Curling Club, Moose Jaw’s Cole Tenetuik lost his opening game 5-4 to Brady Scharback from the Saskatoon Sutherland.

Corbin managed a rare feat of building an 8-0 lead without ever having the hammer. She stole a point in the first end and then after a blank in the second she stole points in five consecutive ends — including three in the sixth end — to go ahead 8-0 after seven ends. Orsen finally scored two with the hammer in the eighth before shaking hands.

Corbin’s rink features third Karlee Fesser, second Sarah Hoag, lead Renee Michaud and coach Darcey Huyghebeart. They will face another opening draw winner, Jessica Hanson from the Saskatoon Granite, Saturday morning.

The other rinks in Corbin’s pool are Danielle Bertsch (Saskatoon Sutherland), Allyson Grywacheski (Naicam) and Brooke Tokarz (Saskatoon Nutana).

It was a tough loss to open the championship for Tenetuik.

He was in control for most of the game, scoring two twice with the hammer to take 2-1 and 4-3 leads. Scharback tied the game in the ninth end and then stole a point in the 10th as Tenetuik failed to take advantage of having last shot in the final end.

The Tenetuik rink — which features third Travis Tokarz, second Garret Springer, lead Aaron Verbeem and coach Jared Schlechte — will look to get in the win column when they play Austin Williamson from the Regina Callie in the Saturday morning draw.

Also in Tenetuik’s pool is Jeremy Van Der Buhs (Saskatoon Sutherland), Kevin Haines (Regina Callie) and Justin Anderson (Humboldt).

The 12-team junior championships feature two pools of six teams. Following a five-game round robin, the top two teams in each pool will advance to a Page playoff.

Organizations: North Battleford Twin Rivers Curling Club

Geographic location: Saskatoon, Moose Jaw

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page