Seaborn Insurance rink wins Super League 'A' Final

Nathan Liewicki
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Skip Dane Roy eyes a shot during the seventh end of the Great Western Original 16 Super League 'A' Final. Roy's Seaborn Insurance rink of third Joel Jordison, second Derek Dejaegher and lead Charlie Templeton won the league title with a 7-5 win over Lorraine Arguin and her Easy Care Living rink Wednesday evening at the Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre

Four-point third end propels Roy to victory over Arguin

Four-point curling ends are backbreakers.

Lorraine Arguin’s Easy Care Living rink found that out the hard way in the Great Western Original 16 Super League ‘A’ Final Wednesday evening at the Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre.

After scoring their deuce in the second end following an opening end blank, Arguin’s rink looked to be in control against the Seaborn Insurance rink skipped by Dane Roy.

Then came the third end.

“We had misses and didn’t get our rocks in the right spot,” Arguin said. “We were short on a couple draws and some of our guards were over buried.”

That opened the door for Roy, who executed a perfect cross pick to lay three. After Arguin missed an angle raise with her last stone, Roy had a draw for four and a 4-2 lead.

He didn’t miss it.

Arguin got one back in the fourth end before Roy – skipping instead of Joel Jordison in the final – blanked the fifth end.

Putting the four-ender behind her, Arguin continued to clawback in the sixth end with a steal of two and a 5-4 lead when Roy’s final shot – a raise tap – was too heavy.

“When they stole two in the sixth that put us in a tough spot, but we managed to get our deuce back in seven,” said Roy, who said he considered trying to play for the blank in the seventh end.

Coming home down 6-5, but with the hammer, Arguin’s rink had a chance to complete the comeback.

A sloppy eighth end from both rinks ensued, but in the end Arguin was left with a difficult angle raise tap to score one and force an extra end.

Her stone was light and wide of the target, giving Roy’s rink a steal of one and a 7-5 victory.

“We battled back,” said Arguin. “We made a couple of nice shots in six and were able to steal two. If Shelley's guard (in the eighth end) hadn't ticked on the guard we would have been set. So we just over rolled a tad and left our shot rock open.”

Both skips admitted their rinks didn’t perform their best in Wednesday’s final, but in the end Roy, Jordison, second Derek Dejaegher and lead Charlie Templeton did enough to score the win.

“It’s always nice to win your league title, even though our competitive season ended at playdowns earlier this year,” Roy said.

The competitive season is not, however, over for Arguin’s rink. Arguin, third Donda Lee Deis, second Shelly Urquhart and lead Connie Fritzler are off to Yellowknife to represent Saskatchewan at the 2014 Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Championship from March 22-29.

Arguin hoped her rink would be able to head to Yellowknife on the high of a win. An hour before their match – at her rink’s send-off party – she even told Jordison, “if we win tonight, that would give us a big boost of confidence heading to nationals,” before the crowd on hand burst into laughter.

Ultimately, the third end proved to be too much for Arguin to overcome.

Nathan Liewicki can be reached at 306-691-1256 or follow him on Twitter @liewicks

Organizations: Seaborn Insurance, Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre

Geographic location: Yellowknife, Saskatchewan

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page