Yorkton QB wins league MVP award

Matthew Gourlie
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The University of Regina Rams handed out the Moose Jaw High School Football League's annual awards for the 28th season. Pictured is Charlie McCrystal, back left, from the Rams, along with Logan Lazurko (Weyburn), Tyler Hodgson (Estevan), Aaron Wakely (Estevan), Christian Pearce (Vanier), Dylan Pisio (Central), Jon Unger (Swift Current), Rams head coach Frank McCrystal, Zach Huschi (Peacock), Layne Hull (Yorkton), Dalton Fichtner (Yorkton), Nathan Fall (Peacock), Sawyer Buettner (Peacock) and Levi Paul (Peacock). Not pictured: Cam Davison (Swift Current).

Dalton Fichtner’s season ended with disappointment in the league final, but the Yorkton Raiders quarterback had the silver lining of being named the league’s most valuable player.

“It was a big surprise, but we it was really exciting,” said Fichtner.

Fichtner earned the Moose Jaw High School Football League’s MVP honours after finishing second in the league with 599 rushing yards, while also passing for 805 yards. The senior scored seven touchdowns and was also an impact player on defence as a safety.

“I wasn’t expecting it at all,” said Fichtner. “When we played Vanier, they had (Matt Morris) who is an awesome player. I didn’t know who was going to get it.”

Fichtner learned he was MVP at a special pep rally before the city final.

“At school they had a big assembly and they didn’t tell any football players. They just called us up and so we were really shocked,” he said.

Peacock's Nathan Fall lead the league in rushing with 765 yards and led the league with 12 touchdowns.

Peacock’s Levi Paul led the league in receiving with 556 yards. Tornadoes quarterback Sawyer Buettner passed for 1,150 yards to lead the league.

Swift Current’s Jon Unger led the league with a 35.4 yard punting average.

Estevan’s Aaron Wakely led the league in interceptions after picking off three passes for 112 yards.

Each of the league’s seven teams also named a team defensive MVP. Dylan Pisio (Central), Zach Huschi (Peacock), Christian Pearce (Vanier), Cam Davison (Swift Current), Tyler Hodgson (Estevan), Layne Hull (Yorkton) and Logan Lazurko (Weyburn) earned those honours.

Organizations: Yorkton Raiders, Moose Jaw High School Football League

Geographic location: Swift Current, Yorkton

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page