Whelan caps three-year Generals career with MVP award

Matthew Gourlie
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Moose Jaw Generals award winners were Ryland Pashovitz, left, Sean Whelan, Colton Schick, Rhett Gardner, Brett Bohlken and Dylan McIntosh.

Sean Whelan had a great three years with the Moose Jaw Generals and the local defenceman capped it with a pair of awards Saturday night.

Whelan was named the Hunter’s Mens Wear Defenceman of the Year and was also named the Boston Pizza Most Valuable Player for the Generals.

“I was really surprised,” said Whelan. “I wasn’t sure who was going to get it because we have a lot of good players on our team. It was a nice honour to get that.”

Whelan was an assistant captain who had 12 goals and 26 points in 39 games while also providing a steady defensive presence on the blue line.

“It’s gone by way too fast for three years. I’ve had good teams and good coaching for all three years,” said Whelan.

Rhett Gardner earned the Tim Hortons’ Rookie of the Year Award, while captain Dylan McIntosh won the Deja Vu Coach’s Award.

Brett Bohlken was the Heritage Inn Scholastic Player of the Year. Bohlken had a 97 per cent average to narrowly edge Ty Vallee who had a 92 per cent average.

Goalie Ryland Pashovitz won the McDonald’s Players Choice Award voted on by his teammates.

Colton Schick won the KCS Marketing Top Forward Award.

The Generals also honoured their graduating players: Schick, McIntosh, Whelan and Dayton Picard who all played three seasons in Moose Jaw plus Dalton Kaake and Dylan Johner.

Organizations: Tim Hortons, Heritage Inn Scholastic Player

Geographic location: Moose Jaw

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page