Point wins fans choice and player of year for Warriors

Matthew Gourlie
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Moose Jaw Warriors salute the crowd following the final game of the 2013-14 season at Mosaic Place.

Brayden Point capped off a torrid second half of the season with a big haul during the Moose Jaw Warriors Yara Awards night.

Point was the big winner as he won the RBC Top Scorer award with 91 points — the most since Troy Brouwer had 102 points in 2005-06 — along with the Yara Fan's Choice Award, the Three Stars Award and he was named the Warriors' Player of the Year.

"It's cool to win the fan's choice award," said Point. "It's not anything I ever thought I would get. Winning the most valuable player is a huge honour too. It could have gone to a lot of players on the team.

"You always want to have team success more than anything, but I'm happy with my season. I got off to a slow start, but it finished well."

Warriors captain Sam Fioretti was named the Moose Jaw Co-op Humanitarian of the Year and he also received the Shanon Maclachlan True Warrior Award. He played all four of his WHL seasons with the Warriors and helped create a pair of new community initiatives this season.

Fellow 20-year-old Jesse Forsberg was named the Canada Safeway Top Defenceman. Tanner Eberle won the Mark Mackay Hustle & Desire Award for an unprecedented third straight season.

Dallas Valentine was named the Vanier Collegiate Scholastic Player of the Year and was also named the Andy's Transmission & Automotive Most Improved player.

Goaltender Zach Sawchenko was named the McDonalds Rookie of the Year.

Jack Rodewald was Moose Jaw Warriors Booster Club Unsung Hero, while Torrin White C & E Mechanical Most Sportsmanlike Award.

Organizations: RBC, Moose Jaw Co-op Humanitarian, Canada Safeway

Geographic location: Moose Jaw, Dallas

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page